Comparison
The closest product on this list, and the honest split
This is the hardest page in this set to write honestly, because Chatling does very nearly the same job. It is cheaper at the bottom, it indexes far more, and it reaches four messaging apps this does not. What actually differs is how predictable a month is before you have run it, and what happens when your material does not cover the question.
What Chatling actually is
Chatling is the closest product here to this one, and the page is worth reading with that in mind. Their own line is that it is the AI support platform built for resolution, not deflection. They publish auto syncing of your website, docs and help center, replies in what they state as 80 plus languages, and a Show Sources for AI Response setting that displays sources beneath answers with the number and type configurable.
It goes further than a website widget. They publish deployment on web, WhatsApp, Instagram, Telegram and Messenger, a live chat mode for talking to customers directly, and a human handoff described as instant and carrying full context. There are also AI Actions, capped per agent by tier at two, four, seven and twelve.
The pricing is a credit ladder. Free at $0 a month with 200 AI credits, one agent and 500,000 knowledge base characters. Starter at $25 a month, or $21 a month billed $250 annually, with 1,750 credits, two agents and 10 million characters. Growth at $75, or $63 billed $750 annually, with 6,000 credits, five agents and 30 million characters. Scale at $295, or $246 billed $2,950 annually, with 35,000 credits, seven agents and 100 million characters.
The detail to understand before comparing any of that is that a credit is not a message. Their documentation states credits are consumed each time a chatbot or AI agent generates an AI response, and not for normal messages sent and received by users, and their pricing page shows the cost of one response ranging from half a credit on the cheapest model choice to twenty five credits on the most expensive. The same 1,750 credit tier therefore buys somewhere between about seventy answers and about three and a half thousand, decided entirely by a dropdown. Those are their published figures on the checked date and they move.
Reasons to choose Chatling instead
Written to be used rather than to be waved at. If any of these describe you, this is the wrong product and the rest of the page will not change that.
- You want the cheap models cheap. If a half credit response answers your questions well enough, Starter at $25 a month is thousands of answers, which is more than this product gives you at $29. That is a real advantage and we are not going to talk around it.
- You want to pick the model and change your mind later. They publish a switcher and a per response credit cost against each option, so you can trade accuracy against cost deliberately. There is no such choice here and no dial to turn.
- You need WhatsApp, Instagram, Telegram or Messenger. All four are published as deployment targets. This answers on your own website and nowhere else, and that is permanent.
- Your material is enormous. 10 million characters on their $25 tier and 100 million on Scale, against 500 pages on our $29 tier and 5,000 on our $99 one. If you are indexing a decade of documentation, the ceilings are not close and ours will stop you first.
- You want a person able to take the conversation over live. They publish a live chat mode and a handoff described as instant with full context. Ours is a form that turns into an email, which is a slower thing entirely.
Reasons to choose this one
- One meter, and no model arithmetic to do first. A reply is a reply: 50 a month free, 1,000 at $29, 5,000 at $99, unmetered at $299. You never have to work out what a good answer costs before you can predict a bill.
- Our name leaves the widget on every paid tier, starting at $29 a month. Their pricing page lists removing the Powered by Chatling line as a $35 a month add on, which is more than our entire entry tier costs.
- Refusal is a threshold rather than a hope. Below the match score you set, the assistant does not reach the model at all and returns the fallback line you wrote, so the failure mode is a stated non answer rather than a fluent guess.
- Numbered citations come with every answer, tied to the passage that produced the claim. On their side, showing sources is a setting you enable and tune.
- Add ons are not how the plan gets completed. Seats, assistants, index capacity, custom domain and branding removal all sit inside the tier rather than each carrying its own monthly line.
What they published on 8 September 2026
Read off their own site on that date, quoted narrowly. Prices and packaging in this category change often, so treat this as a snapshot and check both before you decide.
| Plan list | Free at $0 a month, Starter at $25 a month or $21 a month billed $250 annually, Growth at $75 or $63 billed $750 annually, and Scale at $295 or $246 billed $2,950 annually. |
|---|---|
| AI credit allowances | 200 credits a month on Free, 1,750 on Starter, 6,000 on Growth and 35,000 on Scale. |
| What a credit is | Their documentation states that credits are consumed each time a chatbot or AI agent generates an AI response, and are not consumed for normal messages sent and received by users. |
| Credit cost per response | The pricing page shows the credit cost of a single response varying with the model chosen, from half a credit on the cheapest listed option up to twenty five credits on the most expensive. |
| Knowledge base size | 500,000 characters on Free, 10 million on Starter, 30 million on Growth and 100 million on Scale, with file upload limits listed at 1 MB on Free and 100 MB on Starter. |
| Add ons | Extra AI credits at $10 a month per 1,000, extra knowledge base characters at $2 a month per million, an extra AI agent at $3 a month, an extra seat at $10 a month, a custom domain at $10 a month, and removing the Powered by Chatling branding at $35 a month. |
| Channels and sources | Deployment is published on web, WhatsApp, Instagram, Telegram and Messenger, and a Show Sources for AI Response setting displays sources beneath answers with the number and type configurable. |
What we could not verify
Listing this is more useful than filling it in. Every line here is something that was not clearly published, or was behind a sign-up.
- Their documentation page on branding says removal requires an Ultimate plan, while the pricing page shows only Free, Starter, Growth and Scale with removal sold as a $35 a month add on. The two could not be reconciled, so check the live page before budgeting either.
- What happens when a month's AI credits are exhausted was not stated on the documentation page that defines them.
- Whether a refused, failed or fallback response still consumes a credit was not stated anywhere read.
- Whether the Show Sources for AI Response setting is on by default, and which plans carry it, was not stated on the page describing it.
Questions
- Which one is actually cheaper?
- Theirs, quite possibly, and it turns on which model you pick. Their $25 tier is 1,750 credits, and one response costs between half a credit and twenty five. That is somewhere between about seventy answers and about three and a half thousand. Ours is 1,000 replies at $29 with no such variable. Do the arithmetic on your own volume rather than believing either of us.
- Do both products cite their sources?
- Both can show them. Theirs is a setting called Show Sources for AI Response, with the number and type configurable. Here numbered citations are attached to every answer and are not something you switch on.
- Can either one look up a customer's order?
- Not this one. It has no connection to an order system, a CRM, a payment system or any account, and it cannot act on anything. Their AI Actions are a different shape of feature, so if you need the assistant to do something rather than say something, check theirs against your own systems.
- What does removing the branding cost?
- Nothing extra here. It is part of every paid tier, from $29 a month. On their pricing page it was listed as a $35 a month add on.
Keep reading
- Compared with SiteGPTSiteGPT meters messages against the model you pick and sells branding removal as an add on. Askably is one flat allowance with the name already off.
- Compared with CustomGPT.aiCustomGPT.ai links every response to its source and starts at $99 a month for 1,000 queries. Askably makes the same citation promise from $29.
- Compared with LandbotLandbot bills structured rule based chats in euros and meters AI chats separately. Askably has no builder and answers only from your documents.
- Compared with ChatbaseThe closest product in shape, and the one where the invoice differs most.
- Every comparisonWhat each product is, and where it is the better answer.
Try it on your own material
Upload a document or point it at your site, paste one line of HTML, then ask it something only your business could answer.