Comparison
A bot with a seat meter, which is a strange thing to be
The oddity at the centre of Chatbot.com is that a product whose whole job is answering without a person is still billed by the person. Its allowances are per user, its reply suggestions are per user, and its price rises when you hire. That is worth noticing before you compare tiers, because the number on the card is not the number on the invoice.
What Chatbot.com actually is
Chatbot.com is a standalone bot builder operated by Text, Inc., whose copyright notice sits at the foot of its pages. Its integration page states plainly that LiveChat and Chatbot.com are separate products that can be used independently or together, with the bot giving instant AI powered support and the live chat product adding human agents. This page is about the bot on its own, since the live chat product has its own comparison on this site.
The product itself is a visual builder plus a grounding layer. Its features page describes building flows without coding through an AI Chatbot Builder, and a Knowledge hub where you ground answers in your own content so customers get accurate information without waiting on a human. The knowledge sources row on the pricing page names help articles, internal documents, URLs and PDFs, with a maximum of 50 megabytes per file. It deploys to a website chat widget, mobile, messengers and SMS, naming WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger and Twilio SMS.
Pricing is per user per month, stated as such on the page, and both billing views are shown. Essential was $25 a user monthly or $19 a user annually. Growth was $99 a user monthly or $79 a user annually. Enterprise is custom. The AI allowances by tier were one agent, 10 AI resolutions a month, 5 reply suggestions a user and 5 AI text edits a user on Essential, rising to 10 agents, 200 AI resolutions a month, 50 reply suggestions a user and 100 AI text edits a user on Growth.
Branding removal is where the tiering bites. White label appears only in the Enterprise column, listed under customisation as removing the Powered by Text branding from your chat widget. Enterprise is contact only, so the feature is confirmed and its cost is not. There is a free 14 day trial with no credit card required. Every figure above is what Chatbot.com published on the checked date, and prices move, so read their pricing page and ours before deciding.
Reasons to choose Chatbot.com instead
Written to be used rather than to be waved at. If any of these describe you, this is the wrong product and the rest of the page will not change that.
- You want to draw the conversation rather than describe it. The visual builder is the product, and a branching flow that qualifies, routes and collects fields in a fixed order is a genuinely different tool from a retrieval assistant. Askably has no builder, no flow, no branch and no form beyond the handover fields.
- You want the bot in more than one place. It deploys to a website widget, mobile, messengers and SMS, naming WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger and Twilio SMS. This answers on your own website and on nothing else.
- You want a path to human chat from the same vendor. Their own page says the two products are separate but work together, so the bot can hand off to live agents without a second procurement. There is no live handover here at all.
- You are one person and your volume is small. Essential at $19 a user a month billed annually is cheaper than $29, and if 10 AI resolutions a month covers your traffic then paying more would be pointless.
- You want to test it before paying anything. A free 14 day trial with no credit card required is published, and 14 days is enough to find out whether a flow builder suits how you think.
Reasons to choose this one
- Nobody is counted. The price does not change when a colleague gets a login, because there is no login to buy. $0, $29, $99 and $299 a month, flat. On their published list, three people on Growth billed annually is $237 a month for the same 200 AI resolutions one person would get.
- Taking our name off costs nothing extra and starts at $29 a month. Their white label sits in the Enterprise column, which is contact only, so removing the Powered by Text line from the widget means a sales call and an unpublished figure.
- Nothing has to be built before it works. Point it at your site or upload your files, set a threshold, paste one script tag. There is no flow to draw, no cards to wire and no fallback branch to remember to write.
- Every reply carries numbered references to the passages behind it, so when an answer is wrong you open the document that caused it rather than opening a builder to work out which node fired.
- The allowance is one number and it is large at the entry price, although the units differ and you should check both: 1,000 replies a month at $29 here against 10 AI resolutions a month at their annual Essential rate. A reply is one answer returned to a visitor. A resolution is their unit, and they do not define it.
What they published on 8 September 2026
Read off their own site on that date, quoted narrowly. Prices and packaging in this category change often, so treat this as a snapshot and check both before you decide.
| Pricing basis | The pricing page states the figures are per user a month, and shows both billing views: Essential at $25 a user monthly or $19 a user annually, and Growth at $99 a user monthly or $79 a user annually, with Enterprise as custom. |
|---|---|
| AI allowances by tier | Essential listed one AI agent, 10 AI resolutions a month, 5 reply suggestions a user and 5 AI text edits a user. Growth listed 10 AI agents, 200 AI resolutions a month, 50 reply suggestions a user and 100 AI text edits a user. |
| Knowledge sources | Described as feeding your AI from help articles, internal documents, URLs and PDFs, with a maximum of 50 megabytes per file. |
| White label | Appears only in the Enterprise column, listed under customisation as removing the Powered by Text branding from your chat widget. |
| Deployment surfaces | The features page lists a website chat widget, mobile, messengers and SMS, naming WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger and Twilio SMS. |
| Relationship to the live chat product | Their integration page states that LiveChat and Chatbot.com are separate products that can be used independently or together, and both sites carry a Text, Inc. copyright notice. |
| Trial | Published as a free 14 day trial with no credit card required. |
What we could not verify
Listing this is more useful than filling it in. Every line here is something that was not clearly published, or was behind a sign-up.
- How an AI resolution is counted, and what happens to a conversation that does not become one, was not stated on the pricing page and was not findable in the help centre index read.
- What happens when the monthly resolution allowance runs out, and whether more can be bought, was not published.
- The Enterprise price is contact only, so the cost of removing the Powered by Text branding is not knowable from the page.
- Whether reply suggestions and AI text edits draw down the same resolution allowance, or are counted separately, was not stated.
Questions
- Why is a bot priced per user?
- That is a question for them, and a fair one to ask before buying. Their page states the figures are per user a month, and the reply suggestion and text edit allowances are per user too. If the bot is meant to reduce how many people you need, a seat meter pulls the other way.
- Can I get the branding off without an Enterprise contract?
- Not on their published list, no. White label sits only in the Enterprise column and Enterprise is contact only. Here it is included from $29 a month upward with no separate charge on any tier.
- Is a flow builder better than what this does?
- For anything with a fixed sequence, yes, honestly. A qualification form or a booking path wants branches and this has none. For answering a question from a document, a builder is a lot of drawing to arrive at the same place.
- Does it hand over to a live agent?
- No. It collects a name, an email and a message and emails that to an address you nominate. Nobody joins the conversation, which is exactly the gap their live chat product exists to fill.
Keep reading
- Compared with Zoho DeskZoho Desk is a help desk inside a very large suite with a help centre you build first. Askably reads the site and files you have and hosts nothing.
- Compared with IntercomIntercom charges per seat and per Fin outcome. Askably is a flat monthly price for a document grounded assistant on your own website.
- Compared with TidioTidio bundles live chat, ticketing and the Lyro AI agent with separate conversation meters. Askably is one flat allowance of cited answers.
- Compared with ChatbaseThe closest product in shape, and the one where the invoice differs most.
- Every comparisonWhat each product is, and where it is the better answer.
Try it on your own material
Upload a document or point it at your site, paste one line of HTML, then ask it something only your business could answer.